Clinical Departments

The University of South Carolina School of Medicine has 11 clinical academic departments with a wide variety of educational and research opportunities for students. More than 200 faculty physicians instruct our students during their clinical education experiences at our partner hospitals, Palmetto Health, William Dorn VA Hospital and Greenville Hospital Systems. The clinical faculty teaches critical components of the medical school curriculum and supervises students and residents on clinical rotations.

Our clinical departments include:

Family and Preventive Medicine
Department Chair: E.J. Mayeaux, M.D.

Internal Medicine
Department Chair: Helmut Albrecht, M.D.

Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Science
Department Chair: Meera Narasimhan, M.D.

Department Chair: Souvik Sen, M.D.

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Department Chair:  Judith T. Burgis, M.D.


Orthopaedic Surgery
Department Chair: John J. Walsh IV, M.D.

Department Chair: R. Caughman Taylor, M.D..

Department Chair: Francis H. Neuffer, M.D.

Department Chair: Daniel Clair, M.D.